There's this phenomena that I experience every time I get off stage of... how to put it gently... utter disappointment. I don't know what it is, if it's my body coming off an endorphin high or just the product of a freshly crushed ego, but I always get off stage thinking I did an absolutely atrocious job. I usually can't shake the feeling until I've listened to the audio back at home and hear some of the laughter that somehow didn't quite register while I was on stage. That said, my immediate impression of myself is always much worse than the actual performance, but even still, it's a humbling experience to put yourself through that on such a regular basis.
Now, I'm not going to pretend that my set last night brought the house down or even was near the top of the showcase list. In fact, it was quite the opposite. I was one of the last comics to go on, and it was nearing the end of a full 2 hour show that went through 5 or 6 showcase comics, then the headliner, Edwin San Juan, and then 5 more showcase comics. The comic right before me, though a good friend, got a little ranty and I saw the already waning post-headliner audience get even slimmer. I fortunately had a small posse of friends who stuck around to see me perform, but the crowd was limp and tired of laughing.
The saddest part of it all was that I gave what was probably my best performance yet (I know, I say that every time), but to a Monday night audience that had already given all it had to the comics before. Luckily, I've become an expert at finding the grins and nodding heads in skimpy crowds, and replacing them with belly laughs in my head. I'm not sure if I'm going to post the video from last night. A buddy recorded it, but didn't hit record all the way so the first 2 jokes (which, in retrospect, were probably not that funny) didn't make it on there. It's an embarrassingly quiet crowd, though, and since I occasionally point friends to my YouTube results to get a sense of my comedy, I might just leave this developmental step off of the public list. As painful as it may've been, I still walked away a better comic than when I came in.
Tuesday, December 2, 2008
Monday, December 1, 2008
A (slightly) new approach...
I'm going on stage at Club Deluxe tonight as part of their Monday night showcase. It's my third time appearing in their showcase, and although my sets there have gotten increasingly better, I'm hoping to make this performance significantly better than the rest. I'm not only pulling out some of my best jokes, I also carefully trimmed back the premise of each and isolated the punchline, keeping the least amount of premise necessary. This will allow me to tell more jokes, and use the momentum to keep the crowd going. Besides, I'm learning that if part of a premise can be removed without hurting the joke, then it's not really a premise at all, it's unfunny fluff.
At some point, I'll want to re-extend these jokes, as a few of them have become only a shade longer than a one-liner. However, for tonight, my goal is to get at least a couple eruptions of laughter without killing the mood with an interminable build-up. I'll be sure to update you on how it goes.
Tonight's Headliner at Club Deluxe: Edwin San Juan
At some point, I'll want to re-extend these jokes, as a few of them have become only a shade longer than a one-liner. However, for tonight, my goal is to get at least a couple eruptions of laughter without killing the mood with an interminable build-up. I'll be sure to update you on how it goes.
Tonight's Headliner at Club Deluxe: Edwin San Juan
Labels:
club deluxe,
comedy,
edwin san juan,
jesse nichols,
premise,
quick tip,
san francisco,
showcase,
stand up,
thoughts,
writing jokes
Monday, November 24, 2008
Hecklers
For anyone who doesn't realize it, I just want to set the record straight. Unless they ask a question directly to you, anyone who talks during a comedian's set is a heckler. It doesn't matter what the person says, it's a heckle. Even if you think you're helping, you're not. And this is what gets me, is that people actually feel like they can just shout something at someone on stage. No one would heckle an actor in a play, or a speaker doing a speech, so why do people feel entitled to say something to a comedian?
It was the most brilliant handling of a heckler that I've ever seen. It was a tremendously dangerous move, but executed flawlessly. I then continued to watch about 2 hours of comedians dealing with hecklers, some more successful than others. What I found was that the best scenario is to respond directly and cruelly to the heckler with a couple of comments. One comment isn't usually effective enough, and if handled well, it becomes a joke and should be drawn out for a few lines. However, too much attention and you risk getting completely off track. I've been taking a few notes on the ones I particularly like, but I get the feeling that it's one of those abilities that, unfortunately, only come with practice.
ps. Joe was brilliant, and it's apparently his style to do a lot of crowd interaction. I highly recommend seeing him if you get the chance.
I haven't gotten heckled on stage. The BrainWash has an unspoken rule that, no matter how bad the comedian, nobody heckles. Now, the problem with the BrainWash is that people will still carry on and talk as if no one is on stage, but that's just an open mic, and you have to deal with it. However, in all the time I've been there, I've only heard someone make an audible comment about the comedian while on stage once or twice, which is impressive considering how bad they can be.
The reason I was thinking about it was because a comedian I was supposed to see at the Punchline (John Caparulo) ended up cancelling. Instead of calling off the night, they brought on a fairly well known local comedian who I had been intending to see, but hadn't made the effort yet. His name is Joe Klocek. When I went onto YouTube to check him out, this was the first video I found: "Heckler vs. Comedian Joe Klocek"
It was the most brilliant handling of a heckler that I've ever seen. It was a tremendously dangerous move, but executed flawlessly. I then continued to watch about 2 hours of comedians dealing with hecklers, some more successful than others. What I found was that the best scenario is to respond directly and cruelly to the heckler with a couple of comments. One comment isn't usually effective enough, and if handled well, it becomes a joke and should be drawn out for a few lines. However, too much attention and you risk getting completely off track. I've been taking a few notes on the ones I particularly like, but I get the feeling that it's one of those abilities that, unfortunately, only come with practice.
ps. Joe was brilliant, and it's apparently his style to do a lot of crowd interaction. I highly recommend seeing him if you get the chance.
Labels:
brainwash,
comedy,
hecklers,
joe klocek,
punchline,
quick tip,
stage presence,
stand up
Saturday, November 22, 2008
Six Months of Open Mic
I've just recently surpassed the six month mark of doing open mic stand up comedy. When I started back in March, I told myself that I just wanted to give it a shot, and do it consistently for at least six months. Well, here I am, and in danger of being too immodest, I'm doing a lot better at it than I imagined. My delivery has improved ten fold, and my confidence on stage has really started to shine through.
I think my greatest asset has been recording my shows (typically just audio) and reviewing them relentlessly. If something doesn't work, I typically blame it on my delivery and not on the crowd. For a while, if something didn't work, I would comment afterwords on how the crowd just wasn't into it. However, as I've done this more and more, I've brought the worst crowds out of a funk and had them laughing again, so I now try to avoid that excuse. Instead, I just meticulously go over my material, picking it apart and trying out new premises, punchlines, and transitions.
I'm still making plenty of rookie mistakes, and my jokes still sometimes fall flat on their face the first time I tell them, but it happens less and less. I'm still learning and improving each time I go up, and soon, I think I will have moved up from noobie to novice.
Labels:
comedy,
jesse nichols,
open mic,
quick tip,
thoughts,
writing jokes
Sunday, November 9, 2008
My Obama Set
So, although I've still been doing my weekly set at the Brainwash, I've neglected blogging these past couple weeks so that I could devote more attention to the fact that our country is asserting it's will to progress past these hellish 8 years that we've (surprisingly) endured.
Recently, I have been toying with the idea of doing my 5 minute sets on a single topic. If you look at your comedy albums (we all have a few, don't we?), they are broken up like a music album: 5-10 minute chunks, all with a clever name that alludes to either the premise or the punchline. Very rarely will you ever see an hour-long show filled with one liners or single laugh jokes. Instead, they are crafted stories that have many punchlines, ideally stacking one laugh on top of another until the crowd is rolling in their seats.
This is tough to do. Really tough. Especially for a short set, since if the joke isn't going the way you want it to, it's that much harder to bail and get to the next one. Nonetheless, open mics are made for screwing up and learning, so I've been pushing forward in acquiring this necessary skill. My set last Thursday was, easily enough, all Obama. Having one main topic made transitions easy and seamless, and there was plenty of material to go around.
It came off well, and I would say that I got as many laughs as I normally do so I was pretty happy with the experience. I probably won't do that every week, though. The thing I'm most afraid of is having too many jokes that seem forced because I'm constraining the subject matter. Instead, I'm looking through my current jokes and trying to group them together when I can. I then try to jot down a few more ideas, funny or not, that relate to it and see if anything comes to mind. It's going okay, but I've also been trying to evolve and improve my best material. I've managed to combine the two activities by taking my best jokes, partnering them with related jokes, and hoping that a couple of great ones will help carry the rest. We'll see how that goes.
Recently, I have been toying with the idea of doing my 5 minute sets on a single topic. If you look at your comedy albums (we all have a few, don't we?), they are broken up like a music album: 5-10 minute chunks, all with a clever name that alludes to either the premise or the punchline. Very rarely will you ever see an hour-long show filled with one liners or single laugh jokes. Instead, they are crafted stories that have many punchlines, ideally stacking one laugh on top of another until the crowd is rolling in their seats.
This is tough to do. Really tough. Especially for a short set, since if the joke isn't going the way you want it to, it's that much harder to bail and get to the next one. Nonetheless, open mics are made for screwing up and learning, so I've been pushing forward in acquiring this necessary skill. My set last Thursday was, easily enough, all Obama. Having one main topic made transitions easy and seamless, and there was plenty of material to go around.
It came off well, and I would say that I got as many laughs as I normally do so I was pretty happy with the experience. I probably won't do that every week, though. The thing I'm most afraid of is having too many jokes that seem forced because I'm constraining the subject matter. Instead, I'm looking through my current jokes and trying to group them together when I can. I then try to jot down a few more ideas, funny or not, that relate to it and see if anything comes to mind. It's going okay, but I've also been trying to evolve and improve my best material. I've managed to combine the two activities by taking my best jokes, partnering them with related jokes, and hoping that a couple of great ones will help carry the rest. We'll see how that goes.
Saturday, October 25, 2008
Repeating Jokes ad infinitum
I understand that in the world of professional comedy, a comedian will typically have a set routine that they do night after night as they tour around. The jokes are well tested and proven to be funny nearly every time. You can't really expect anything else from them; it's not like we would be surprised to find out that a musician plays the same songs for their shows. A joke is much like a song, it's carefully crafted to produce a response, and timing, rhythm and tempo are just as important in comedy as it is in music.
For my purposes, however, it's a little painful. I'm not touring the country, I'm playing the same venue week after week. And it's not like we're pumping through audiences, either. The most likely audience for me is an audience of other comedians, they were there last week and will probably be there next week. My thoughts are to at least have enough material so that you're not repeating anything more than once out of four times at a given venue. Even then, I still think you should re-write it, tweak it, or add something that's going to make it funnier. Until I tell a joke that has people rolling on the floor the entire time, I'm pretty sure I'm not done with it yet.
That brings me to the flip side of the coin, which is listening to the same jokes from fellow comedians week after week. It's painful, annoying, and these aren't getting any funnier with age. You should of course try it out a few times since the mood of a given audience on a given night shouldn't be the final word on what's funny and what isn't. However, my thoughts are that if you're going to tell the same joke over and over in exactly the same way, it better be comedy gold. If it ain't, then keep working on it for your own sake and the sake of the audience. If it is, then put it in your back pocket for a while and try out new stuff. That's what we're all up on stage for anyway. Not to tell the same joke a hundred times until you find the right audience, but to tell it in a hundred different ways until you finally tell it just right.
For my purposes, however, it's a little painful. I'm not touring the country, I'm playing the same venue week after week. And it's not like we're pumping through audiences, either. The most likely audience for me is an audience of other comedians, they were there last week and will probably be there next week. My thoughts are to at least have enough material so that you're not repeating anything more than once out of four times at a given venue. Even then, I still think you should re-write it, tweak it, or add something that's going to make it funnier. Until I tell a joke that has people rolling on the floor the entire time, I'm pretty sure I'm not done with it yet.
That brings me to the flip side of the coin, which is listening to the same jokes from fellow comedians week after week. It's painful, annoying, and these aren't getting any funnier with age. You should of course try it out a few times since the mood of a given audience on a given night shouldn't be the final word on what's funny and what isn't. However, my thoughts are that if you're going to tell the same joke over and over in exactly the same way, it better be comedy gold. If it ain't, then keep working on it for your own sake and the sake of the audience. If it is, then put it in your back pocket for a while and try out new stuff. That's what we're all up on stage for anyway. Not to tell the same joke a hundred times until you find the right audience, but to tell it in a hundred different ways until you finally tell it just right.
Wednesday, October 22, 2008
Better, but a long way to go.
So, I went on stage at Club Deluxe last Monday as part of their comedy showcase. My jokes went okay, they got some laughs, but they only revealed to me how amateur I still am. The comedians who came after me had tight sets that got laugh after laugh. Mine got a few chuckles, but I just couldn't keep the crowd at the feverish pitch that comedians strive for. Granted, I'm still new at this whole thing, but it really put in perspective where I'm at in my development. On the other hand, going on stage before so many comedians who are between my level and the level of a professional is really helping me understand where I need to go next.
In my set on Monday, I brought out some of my best jokes, and many of them went okay, but they really didn't get the response I was hoping for. It could be that my timing is still off, or that I'm not building enough tension before the releasing punchline. Either way, I took away a slightly better understanding of what makes them funny or unfunny than when I walked in. For example, I botched the punchline of the Tupperware joke by literally one word, and it made all the difference. And for some reason my Sports joke drew as much sympathy as laughs (notice the "awww"). I'm still digesting the lessons of that night, but it at least went well enough that the host personally mentioned to me how much I've been improving and that he was still happy that I was able to bring in a small crowd of drinking, cover-paying customers. :P
Here it is, let me know what you think.
Labels:
blacking out,
club deluxe,
drinking in public,
jesse nichols,
muni,
obama,
porn shops,
san francisco,
showcase,
sports,
tupperware
Sunday, October 19, 2008
Back in the Mix
So, I recently tried entering the Butterfinger Comedy Showdown, with no success. Granted, I'm new at this and really shouldn't have the audicity to think that I could already win comedy competitions, however this one was different. This one was poorly marketed. It was only open to submissions for a month, and by week two there was still only one submission... and it sucked. The caveat for the submission was that it had to somehow reference Butterfinger, but according to the rules, it couldn't mention any other brands... or any people, real or fake... or insult anyone... or be more than a minute long.
With my hands tied, I tried to give it a shot since the prize was a trip to LA for an appearance at the Comedy Store, where you competed with one other winner for a spot at the Just For Laughs festival in Montreal, which is huge. In any case, you can see my video submissions here and here. Granted, not my best work, and it didn't help that you could hear the cook in the background and that this was an absolutely dead night at the BrainWash, no one was laughing at anyone. It was painful, and I felt a little like a corporate sell out whore, but I still think I did better than a few people that made it into the top five, namely, the stupid bitch listed under elham.jazab. I'm not sure if she was picked for demographics or what, but she really did suck.
In any case, I then went on a vacation for a little over a week, and so bottom line was that I hadn't told any good new material for a few weeks. I went up last Thursday, however, and killed, so I'm pretty glad to not be doing comedy for anyone but me once again. This upcoming Monday I have another part in the Club Deluxe showcase, which I'm very excited about. Last time I appeared, I literally brought over 20 people, which was pretty substantial considering that this was the first time I had been up there and that there were only a little less than 30 people in the entire place. Nonetheless, as I've noted, I was less than ecstatic over my last performance, so this one I'm bringing my A-game. I'm only bringing stuff that I've tested a few times before and on which my timing is about as good as it's going to get. We'll see how it goes, wish me luck.
Saturday, September 27, 2008
Building a Set from Scratch
So, as a new comic, I've been working through a lot of material. Some of it good, some of it bad, and some of it really bad. I understand, however, that a big part of working through a joke is just running through it over and over. Testing it in front of crowds, tweaking it, taking parts out, switching up the order, etc. I've been hestitant to repeat jokes too often, out of courtesy to the few consistent friends who come to show after show, but also because it would bore the hell out of me. I don't want to tell the exact same jokes week after week. On top of that, I'm not working toward just the perfect five minute set, I'm eventually working toward, in theory, a killer 45 minute full set. Not to say that it will happen any time soon, but you may as well shoot for the stars in the hopes that you'll at least hit the moon.
Here's what I've been doing so far to achieve that.
1) Never tell the same joke twice in the same way. I'll, of course, tell my best jokes more than once, but I try to understand what was funny about it and why. I slim it down over and over, taking out anything that doesn't build to the punchline. I also try to imagine what other punchlines could work, and see if I can work that in somehow to get additional laughs.
2) Change the surroundings of a joke. I try to write transitions whenever possible, and I don't expect a transition to be hilarious, just effective. If it gets more than a chuckle than that's just a bonus. However, When you pair up jokes in different orders, then you get two potentially new jokes out of it: the transition into and out of the joke. Sometimes, just the juxtaposition results in new jokes that I wouldn't have thought of otherwise.
3) Loosen up the timing. Oftentimes, I just am not pausing enough. Even if I go up with a joke that's practically unchanged from the time before, I try to change the rythm and add pauses where they weren't before. It often works just enough to get an intermediary chuckle during the buildup to the punchline.
Does anyone have any other ideas to try?
Tuesday, September 23, 2008
My First Showcase
Last night I performed in the comedy showcase for Club Deluxe. It was the first time I've ever been chosen to go on stage. Up until last night, it had been only open mics, and the only qualification for getting on stage was showing up. Of course, Club Deluxe may not be the talent gatekeeper for all of San Francisco, but it was a small step in a good direction, and it felt pretty damn good.
The show was decent, not my best, but decent. I had been sick as hell the two days before and my fever had broken literally the night before the show. Whether that was an excuse for my timing being off is questionable, but it was surely a contributing factor. Another factor may have been that I had a huge group of friends arrive, which was both reassuring and slightly frightening.
I don't know what it was, but the jokes just felt a little off. The pauses weren't long enough. The punchlines weren't punchy enough. The set just didn't come off quite as I had imagined. There were a lot of chuckles, but not a lot of big laughs. Don't get me wrong, it could have gone worse, and I was certainly better than at least half the other people that got up there, but all I can do is learn through obsessively replaying the video and then do better next time.
There was one drunk, obnoxious girl in the audience who spoke throughout the entire showcase at normal volume or above, and she had been made fun of by multiple comics but just hadn't learned her lesson because she talked throughout my first joke. You'll see me take a quick dig at her right before my second bit, and I'm still debating whether it was the right move. In any case, share your thoughts about the performance if you have any.
Saturday, September 20, 2008
Slow the Hell Down
So I don't know if you've noticed from my videos, but I need to slow my delivery the hell down. I've gotten a million times better than when I started, but I still need to just take a breather and chill the hell out when I'm up there, and I need to do it in two ways.
First and foremost, I need to give people time to laugh. If there's one lesson I'm learing over and over, it's that people won't laugh out loud if you're already halfway into your next joke. It's almost as a courtesy; they want to hear what you have to say next. On top of that, if you really lean into a pause, it not only gives people the chance to laugh, it also cues them to start laughing.
Secondly, I need to slow down my rate of speech. I've always had a problem with this, and it's only amplified on stage. If it's not keeping people from understanding me, it's definitely keeping people from following a story. The faster I talk, the more people focus on the overall concept and less on the details. But the damn joke is in the details!
I've been given all sorts of techniques for how to do this, but the problem is not just actually speaking slower. I've done public speaking for quite some time, and when I'm in front of a podium my words come out measured and clear. However, I'm not expecting a response until the end of my speech, and it's not likely that people simply won't applause.
On the other hand, when I'm on stage doing comedy, naked and hiding behind a mic stand, I'm expected to make people laugh, loud and often. If you go more than 30 seconds without getting a laugh you start to wonder if people are still with you. If you're at a minute with no laughs, you better hope you've got a hell of a reward at the end of the long road you're taking your audience down. This sort of pressure can make me rush through jokes, and if I don't get a laugh, I start getting a little nervous which will make me go faster.
To get better at balancing this, I'm practicing my bit more before going on stage, and I practice pausing where I expect people to laugh. I can practically hear the laugh track in my head, and I keep that rythm on stage. Even if people don't take my cue, I look like I'm just having fun, and am totally confident in myself, whether they laugh or not. Projecting that type of image allows me and my audience to enjoy myself more.
Thursday, September 18, 2008
Sports, Blacking Out, Tupperware, Beard, Muni
This was my performance at Club Deluxe on September 1st. It was an open mic competition of sorts, not one that gave away money, but the "winners" would be asked back to be a part of future comedy showcases. They hold a 1 hour showcase every Monday night at 9pm right before the headlining comedian, and then do a true open mic after the headliner.
Sure enough, my performance was good enough to be asked back! I'm actually going back on stage next Monday, the 22nd. Sal Calanni is the headliner, and it's a $5 cover (though I'm pretty sure the showcase comedians don't get paid), but I'm just excited to have an attentive audience who actually has to pay to see me!
You'll see that I repeated the sports joke from the last video I posted, but I tried to slow it down and milk the timing a little better. I only brought material that I had tried out before, but I hadn't done any of these jokes for a month before, so they had some time to marinate. I'm sure I'll do a post soon on people who repeat their jokes too often, but suffice to say that I wasn't going to take a chance on brand new material on this night.
All five jokes seemed to go over really well. It's amazing to see the difference in audience reaction when you have a group of people who are actually listening to you. I really felt good after this performance, and I learned a lot from it. I'm sure I'll post a video of my upcoming performance, and we'll see if I was actually able to do some things better next time. Any thoughts you might have on the delivery or content would be appreciated.
Sure enough, my performance was good enough to be asked back! I'm actually going back on stage next Monday, the 22nd. Sal Calanni is the headliner, and it's a $5 cover (though I'm pretty sure the showcase comedians don't get paid), but I'm just excited to have an attentive audience who actually has to pay to see me!
You'll see that I repeated the sports joke from the last video I posted, but I tried to slow it down and milk the timing a little better. I only brought material that I had tried out before, but I hadn't done any of these jokes for a month before, so they had some time to marinate. I'm sure I'll do a post soon on people who repeat their jokes too often, but suffice to say that I wasn't going to take a chance on brand new material on this night.
All five jokes seemed to go over really well. It's amazing to see the difference in audience reaction when you have a group of people who are actually listening to you. I really felt good after this performance, and I learned a lot from it. I'm sure I'll post a video of my upcoming performance, and we'll see if I was actually able to do some things better next time. Any thoughts you might have on the delivery or content would be appreciated.
Labels:
beard,
blacking out,
club deluxe,
comedy,
jesse nichols,
muni,
open mic,
san francisco,
sports,
tupperware
Monday, September 15, 2008
Bill Burr - Self Awareness on Stage
I saw Bill Burr at the Punchline last weekend. It was a truly great show. I had heard about him before, and think I've seen some clips of him on Comedy Central, but his stage persona really came out during his performance. I'm not sure how far (or close) it is to his normal self, but on stage he's a thin, mildly psychotic, conspiratorial stress-ball who looks like he's about to snap. His trademark line, and it worked every time, is "let's bring this back mainstream," and it typically comes out after a line or two about how the banking system is legalized loan sharking or how the world is controlled by only a few families. Not that I disagree with him or anything, but they aren't exactly "golden material" topics. Nonetheless, the awkward silence during which the audience contemplated and tried to digest his reality-tweaking comments were broken with bursts of laughter with his comment, and he would move immediately into lighter subjects.
It's not uncommon for a comedian to have a line they fall back to when they're not getting laughs. Usually, it's something like "didn't like that one so much, did ya?" or some self-referential comment like that. It breaks the audience out of their dislike for their joke, and makes them laugh at the fact that the comedian is "ok" with it. However, it's typically reserved for jokes that don't work. Bill Burr just uses his line almost to pull himself back into it as much as his audience. It's not that he tells a joke that doesn't work, he just goes with his material and sometimes gets lost in the weeds. "Let's bring this back mainstream" eases the audience's tension because because it shows that he's comfortable with his own awkwardness.
No comedian is going to be flawless, and having a way to bring yourself out of a hole is always a good idea. It won't save you if you're bombing, but if you can sense that you're losing the audience with a subject, it's a good way to transition into something completely different. I don't have a collection of phrases like his that I'm in love with, I just use something like "not so much?" More often than not, I just power through the joke and get to the next one. Hell, I'll only be on stage for 5 minutes, he's got to be there for an hour.
Labels:
bill burr,
punchline,
san francisco,
stage presence,
thoughts
Sunday, September 14, 2008
Open Mic Comedy in San Francisco
This isn't the first list of San Francisco Open Mic venues out there, but it's up-to-date, which is more than you can say about most of the lists you'll find. Also, this will be San Francisco only. If you want to know about Open Mic elsewhere, then start your own damn blog.
Club Deluxe
Comedy Showcase until 11, open mic afterwards
ps. I'm only listing the one's I've been to, or know are legit. Please leave a comment if you know of one that is definitely going on as of Fall '08.
MONDAY
Club Deluxe
Comedy Showcase until 11, open mic afterwards
1511 Haight St (at Ashbury)
THURSDAY
Farley's Coffee
Second Saturday of every month, 7:15pm
1315 18th St. (at Texas)
Host: Liz Grant
The Usual Suspects Cafe
7pm-8pm
450 Broadway St (at Montgomery)
(415) 641-1717
Host: Danny Dechi
SUNDAY
Punchline Comedy Club
(415) 829-7061
Host: Sal Calanni
TUESDAY
7-9 (SIGN-UP 6:30)
917 Folsom Street (at 5th St)
917 Folsom Street (at 5th St)
(415) 974-1585
Hosts: Jeff Cleary & Chad Lehrman
10pm
1371 Grant Ave (at Green)
(415) 693-9565
Host: Ben Feldman
THURSDAY
7-Whenever (Sign up at 6:30 )
1122 Folsom (at 7th St)
1122 Folsom (at 7th St)
(415) 861-3663
Host: Tony Sparks
The Usual Suspects Cafe
7pm-8pm
450 Broadway St (at Montgomery)
(415) 641-1717
Host: Danny Dechi
FRIDAY
The Usual Suspects Cafe
7pm-8pm
450 Broadway St (at Montgomery)
(415) 641-1717
Host: Danny Dechi
SATURDAY
The Usual Suspects Cafe
7pm-8pm
450 Broadway St (at Montgomery)
(415) 641-1717
Host: Danny Dechi
FRIDAY
The Usual Suspects Cafe
7pm-8pm
450 Broadway St (at Montgomery)
(415) 641-1717
Host: Danny Dechi
SATURDAY
Comedy Showcase 4th Saturday of the month
508 Haight St (@ Fillmore)
508 Haight St (@ Fillmore)
(415) 552-7390
Farley's Coffee
Second Saturday of every month, 7:15pm
1315 18th St. (at Texas)
Host: Liz Grant
The Usual Suspects Cafe
7pm-8pm
450 Broadway St (at Montgomery)
(415) 641-1717
Host: Danny Dechi
SUNDAY
Punchline Comedy Club
8pm
444 Battery St (at Clay)
(415) 397-7573
If you live outside of San Francisco, you can try to weed through the lists provided by www.SFStandup.com and www.BayAreaOpenMics.com. If you don't live in San Francisco, then why did you read through this entire post?
iPods, Sports, Tooth Fairy, Pennies
I did this routine on July 24th, 2008. My friend with the camera, unfortunately, had to sit toward the back of the cafe, so half of the video I'm blocked out of view by people standing in line at the cafe. This gives a pretty good sense, if nothing else, of the things you have to put up with at the BrainWash. Often, you can barely hear me over the rumble of the 'audience.'
Although you can hear the laughter of the audience in the back, I actually couldn't hear it up front so couldn't respond to the timing. From what I was seeing on stage, I was bombing. There was an elderly couple right in front of me that I lost right around the time I mentioned Christianity, and they just frowned at me the rest of the time. The lady in the corner to the left of the screen was crazy and laughed obnoxiously loud at seemingly random points throughout the night. She appears to be uninterested in what I had to say.
Since I was getting no love from the front of the room and couldn't hear anyone in the back, I was sure it was going horribly. In retrospect, it was probably my best performance to date, which was too bad because I was psyching myself out with the lack of laughter, and got a little nervous toward the end. But that's open mic. Plow through it first, analyze it later. Let me know what you think!
Although you can hear the laughter of the audience in the back, I actually couldn't hear it up front so couldn't respond to the timing. From what I was seeing on stage, I was bombing. There was an elderly couple right in front of me that I lost right around the time I mentioned Christianity, and they just frowned at me the rest of the time. The lady in the corner to the left of the screen was crazy and laughed obnoxiously loud at seemingly random points throughout the night. She appears to be uninterested in what I had to say.
Since I was getting no love from the front of the room and couldn't hear anyone in the back, I was sure it was going horribly. In retrospect, it was probably my best performance to date, which was too bad because I was psyching myself out with the lack of laughter, and got a little nervous toward the end. But that's open mic. Plow through it first, analyze it later. Let me know what you think!
Labels:
brainwash,
comedy,
ipods,
jesse nichols,
open mic,
pennies,
san francisco,
sports,
tooth fairy
What the Hell am I Doing?
I got into Stand Up Comedy not because I thought that I was naturally funny or gifted, but rather because I thought I was funnier than 75% of the people I saw on stage at open mic night. Now, I know that "I suck less than those guys" is a bad reason to start doing anything, (although surprisingly not a bad way to run a political campaign), but it turns out I was half-decent and well on my way to becoming tolerable to listen to.
I started the process by just scratching down a short note whenever I thought of something funny, and then coming back to flesh out the joke when I had the time. ***Quick tip, that doesn't work so well because who the hell carries around a pen and paper. Shortly after starting that, I now just draft and save a text message to myself.*** Once I had a decent amount of material, I practiced it a couple times and signed myself up for the open mic at BrainWash Cafe, down in the SoMa district in San Francisco.
I should say a little something about my beloved BrainWash cafe. It's got... well... it's got character, let's say that. It's a laundromat/ cafe/ bar/ cultural hub of the SoMa district. They have an open mic something just about every night of the week, from poetry to music to what they're best known for: open mic stand up comedy, every Thursday from 7pm-11pm. Now, the laundromat is slightly separated from the sitting area, so it's not like you're talking over the dryer, however that doesn't mean it's the ideal place to find an attentive audience. BrainWash is open mic in the dirtiest, truest sense of the word. When I say open mic, I mean open to anyone, and sure enough, anyone does sign up. On top of that, there is a large segment of the audience who are just waiting for their laundry or grabbing a coffee, and they have no problem carrying on their own conversation while you're on stage. By stage, of course, I'm talking about the 2 foot by 2 foot platform raised 6 inches off the ground on which stands a lanky, hobbled together mic stand and all-too-often a wholly unfunny human being.
I started the process by just scratching down a short note whenever I thought of something funny, and then coming back to flesh out the joke when I had the time. ***Quick tip, that doesn't work so well because who the hell carries around a pen and paper. Shortly after starting that, I now just draft and save a text message to myself.*** Once I had a decent amount of material, I practiced it a couple times and signed myself up for the open mic at BrainWash Cafe, down in the SoMa district in San Francisco.
I should say a little something about my beloved BrainWash cafe. It's got... well... it's got character, let's say that. It's a laundromat/ cafe/ bar/ cultural hub of the SoMa district. They have an open mic something just about every night of the week, from poetry to music to what they're best known for: open mic stand up comedy, every Thursday from 7pm-11pm. Now, the laundromat is slightly separated from the sitting area, so it's not like you're talking over the dryer, however that doesn't mean it's the ideal place to find an attentive audience. BrainWash is open mic in the dirtiest, truest sense of the word. When I say open mic, I mean open to anyone, and sure enough, anyone does sign up. On top of that, there is a large segment of the audience who are just waiting for their laundry or grabbing a coffee, and they have no problem carrying on their own conversation while you're on stage. By stage, of course, I'm talking about the 2 foot by 2 foot platform raised 6 inches off the ground on which stands a lanky, hobbled together mic stand and all-too-often a wholly unfunny human being.
If you can manage to grab the attention of these patrons, you better be funny or else they'll turn their head right back to where it was, and do a spectacular job at ignoring you. This isn't a place to coddle new talent, it's a place to kick it's ass and make it want to quit. Now, I would like to think that I rocked the house the first time I got up there, but the honest truth was that I completely lost my cool. I've done public speaking for years, often in front of audiences in the hundreds, and maintained a strong speaking persona. The first time I got on that puny little fart of a stage, in front of a dozen people at best, I was nervous, I spoke too fast, and any concept of timing or interaction was thrown through the window.
The next time was better, and the next time better still. I've been going at it weekly for a few months, and each time on stage is an improvment. I'm getting into the world of the Comedy Showcase, which is the next step after open mics, and I've already been seeing some sucess there. I don't necessarily plan on leaving everything I'm doing now to devote my life to comedy. I'm fortunate to have a job that I enjoy, pays well, and I'm good at. However, I'm also fortunate to live in San Francisco, which provides more than enough opportunity for a young comic to have fun and play around in the the scene. I'm not real sure what I'm doing or when I'll stop, but I'm having fun for now so I'll just leave it at that.
An Introduction Of Sorts
To all who have had the fortune/misfortune to stop by this blog/vlog/questionably worthwhile use of internet real estate,
This new-fangled e-lec-tronic thing-a-ma-blog is merely a self-indulgent sounding board for my hobby, stand up comedy. I'm still relatively new to the game, but would like to keep better track of the progress I'm making, and because I'm what marketers like to box in as part of the "young digerati", I want to share this experience with the uninterested public. I'll be posting my recorded stand-up sets here as they become available, and though I almost always record audio for my sets, I try to only use video when I've really tightened up the material.
Besides the video, you can expect to see a decent trickle of musings, mumblings, and occasional nonsensery. When I do post videos, please comment freely and honestly. I want your feedback (regardless of the fact that your only qualification to pass judgment on me is that you have a keyboard and minimal spelling abilities), even if it's that I "suck nuts" or "don't understand humor." I totally promise to not look up the IP address of the commenter only to track them down and make them tell me what they think to my goddam face.
Thanks for stopping by. Enjoy!
-Jesse Nichols-
This new-fangled e-lec-tronic thing-a-ma-blog is merely a self-indulgent sounding board for my hobby, stand up comedy. I'm still relatively new to the game, but would like to keep better track of the progress I'm making, and because I'm what marketers like to box in as part of the "young digerati", I want to share this experience with the uninterested public. I'll be posting my recorded stand-up sets here as they become available, and though I almost always record audio for my sets, I try to only use video when I've really tightened up the material.
Besides the video, you can expect to see a decent trickle of musings, mumblings, and occasional nonsensery. When I do post videos, please comment freely and honestly. I want your feedback (regardless of the fact that your only qualification to pass judgment on me is that you have a keyboard and minimal spelling abilities), even if it's that I "suck nuts" or "don't understand humor." I totally promise to not look up the IP address of the commenter only to track them down and make them tell me what they think to my goddam face.
Thanks for stopping by. Enjoy!
-Jesse Nichols-
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)